How to classify hazardous waste

The management of Hazardous waste it is governed by rather young laws that date back to 2008 and see changes until 2011. Per classify hazardous waste an evaluation must be carried out and where the I decline it is dangerous, it is necessary to identify the characteristics of danger in order to find the suitable recovery system.

Classify hazardous waste it is an obligation of whoever holds that waste. THE special waste they are divided into hazardous and non-hazardous waste. The Legislative Decree 205/2010 establishes the new rules for the classification that refer to the so-called CER code.
The rules to remember for choosing the EWC code:
- Identify, within the 20 headings, the activity that originated the refusal, by consulting headings 01 to 12 or 17 to 20.
- Then choose the most suitable code (glass, iron, shavings and other materials) from the section based on the product composition

How to classify hazardous waste, codes and hazard characteristics
H1- Explosive
H2 - Oxidising
H3A - Highly flammable
H3B - Flammable
H4 - Irritating
H5 - Harmful
H6 - Toxic
H7 - Carcinogenic
H8 - Corrosive
H9 - Infectious
H10 - Toxic for reproduction
H11- Mutagen
H12 - In contact with water it releases toxic gases or
very toxic
H13 - Sensitizer
H14 - Ecotoxic
H15 - Susceptible waste, which after elimination will produce other dangerous substances.

We enclose a pdf document for the principles to be applied on the classification of hazardous waste based on laboratory analyzes or concentrations. The document was drafted by Dr. Micaela Utili.

Video: Lecture on Hazardous waste and its classification by Prof. Vaibhav Amlathe, CE Department HCET (October 2021).